Welcome

With its proud history spanning more than 100 years, the Hartford Golf Club holds the distinction as being the oldest Club in the area devoted to the game of golf. Our members enjoy 27 superbly-conditioned golf holes - no other course offers so many distinct layouts within a single course. But great golf is only the beginning. Our Club also embraces the varied interests of our membersí families by offering an extensive selection of other sports and activities for all ages. We invite you to explore our web home to discover everything our Club has to offer.

About Us

Golf Here

The Hartford Golf Club has 27 holes of superbly-conditioned parkland golf. It was created with the golfer who plays the game for enjoyment and adventure in mind. Founded in 1896, the course is a combination of Donald Ross and Devereaux Emmett design. Itís difficult to find another course in the New England like it.

Play Golf

The Hartford Golf Club

A Rich History

1896

Organized in 1896 by John O. Enders, J.C. Sterling, Emerson Taylor and Frank Cooley, The Club's first location was on a property east of Prospect Avenue and opened on June 13, 1896.

1900

In 1900, The Hartford Golf Club expanded, merging with the disbanded Hartford Lawn Club. The Lawn Club, founded in 1888, had several tennis courts on Lafayette Street just behind the old State Library.

1908 - 1921

Soon after the merger, the first formal HGC Clubhouse and eighteen-hole golf course were built on Huntington Avenue between Asylum and Albany Avenues. This Clubhouse was destroyed by fire in 1908. A new structure was built which included bowling alleys and sleeping accommodations.

1940

In 1928, Four squash courts were built and our first paddle (platform) tennis court debuted in 1940.

1955

In 1955, the Clubhouse had to be completely rebuilt or abandoned. Construction of the existing Clubhouse was approved and the move to the present Club property was made. Five new golf holes were also built and incorporated into the existing course, and additional nine new holes were built west of the Clubhouse bringing the Club total to 27 holes of championship quality golf.

1995

The bowling alleys , brought from the old Clubhouse, are still going strong. The squash courts, also brought over from the old Clubhouse, were renovated in 1995 to meet international squash courts standards, expand the viewing gallery, and improve the pro shop.

2007

A major clubhouse renovation was completed in 2007. This included the locker rooms, dining room, bar, meeting space, pro shop, fitness center, platform tennis facility and patio expansion and landscape.

2016

The 9 Har Tru tennis courts were completely renovated. The squash courts received new floors and central air conditioning. The Paddle Courts also had some renovations completed.

2017

Clubhouse renovations were completed, including redecorating the West Rooms, Terrace Room and Front Lobby.

2017

A extensive golf course renovation began in August of 2017 and included complete renovation of 132 sand bunkers and the short game practice facility. There was construction of 16 new tees and the rebuilding of 29 tees. Expansion of greens, collars and fairways were completed. Golf Course Architect Bruce Hepner was responsible for the shaping of the bunkers and location of the new teeing ground.

Request Information